What’s wrong with Freshly Pressed?

There is something I can’t quite put my finger on about the items in Freshly Pressed, is it because they’re just a bit too safe I wonder? I understand the constraints placed upon the criteria for selection but even so, where’s the anger, outrage, petulance even. Denis Healey, a British politician, once compared the experience of being harangued by a political opponent as being ‘…savaged by a dead sheep’. That’s the kind of assault I get with Freshly Pressed. I wonder is every one so convinced of the virtue of their own opinion that they dare not expose their own viscera. It must be cultural, everyone has to be nice don’t they, or rather present the world with a nice face. You don’t fool me, I know you’re not nice, neither I am I, that’s how this world is made, remember?

Anyway, I doubt it will change any time soon, we’re stuck with the kind of suppressed, gently undulating emotional expression that follows from a cannabis habit. Oh well, I suppose it’s better than the unfettered mayhem we usually get on the web, where it seems everyone is knocking their own brains out. Kind of a social analogy that, anarchy or the boredom arising from petty tyrannies, is there nothing in between?

~ by deadspidereye on May 13, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
